the pressure of a name

July 3, 2007 at 3:41 pm (crafty)

more thoughts on identity and facade: why have i ended up with such a girly pseudonym? pretty and drawn from religion, it’s not me.

historically, it actually is me. it is my hebrew name, given to me by my parents. taken from two random great aunts or something. and anglicised. back in 1999 when i studied millinery, i went to considerable trouble to create a label that was suitable for branding hats. now it has branded me. maybe i should leave hanaleah to the nice little black and silver cloth labels that i stick in my creations, and become something a little more true. but first i’d have to find something.

Leave a Reply

